Are you interested in carrying a concealed defensive handgun in the Sunflower State? There are two ways to do so: with and without a license. As you can imagine, there are rules and benefits to each option. Here are a few things you should know about concealed carry in Kansas. Do a little research before attending a RAFA Concealed Carry licensing class!
The Kansas Concealed Carry Law (formally the “Personal and Family Protection Act” or PFPA) was passed by the State Legislature as part of Senate Bill 418 in 2006, with the first CCHLs (Concealed Carry Handgun License) issued on January 3rd, 2007. It remains in effect (with some modifications) today.
A few quick points to keep in mind are:
- You must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a Kansas CCHL
- A valid CCHL lasts 4 years before it must be renewed.
- There is currently (as of this writing) no statutory expiration for the Kansas CCHL training course; this effectively means you can obtain your license even if you delay a lengthy period after completing the training. This is not, however, a recommended course of action. Laws change and “current” training will almost always be an advantage.
- Kansas is what is commonly referred to as a “Constitutional Carry” state. Although a CCHL is available, and in many cases the best option (particularly in the case of interstate travel), it is lawful to carry a concealed handgun without a license in the State of Kansas (see below).
- Kansas is not a true reciprocity state. The fact that Kansas recognizes a CCW/CHL/etc. from another state does not mean that state will recognize Kansas permits in turn.
Unlicensed Lawful Concealed Carry
Do you need a CCHL or temporary non-resident receipt to carry a concealed handgun in Kansas?
Generally, no. As of July 1st, 2015 (Senate Bill 45) it is legal to carry a concealed firearm in Kansas without a CCHL. There are restrictions and caveats to that, however, for instance:
- The legal right to legally carry concealed is applicable only to those who may lawfully possess a firearm and ammunition.
- Unlicensed concealed carry pertains only to individuals of 21 years or older.
- A CCHL will still be required to carry in most states which already recognize the Kansas CCHL, therefore unlicensed carry of concealed handguns/firearms may not be allowed in most of the jurisdictions currently recognizing the Kansas CCHL
For additional information you can always call the Concealed Carry Licensing Unit at 785-291-3765, follow up with the Kansas Office of the Attorney General, or check the Kansas Highway Patrol website for updates.
Active Duty Military in Kansas
A note for active duty military personnel and their dependents stationed in Kansas who wish to carry a concealed handgun.
Effective July 1, 2015, persons who are 21 years of age or older may carry concealed firearms in Kansas without a license if they are lawful to possess firearms in general. This applies to active duty military personnel and their dependents.
A non-Kansas CCHL is valid in Kansas so long as the licensee is not a resident of Kansas and the CCHL is not expired, revoked, suspended or otherwise had arbitrary action taken against it by the issuing jurisdiction. Active duty military personnel and their dependents with valid non-resident driver’s licenses and a valid non-Kansas CCHL are lawful to continue carrying concealed in Kansas without a Kansas CCHL.
Learn more on the Kansas Attorney General’s website.
Register here for a Kansas CCHL class.
Rainier Arms Firearms Training home: RAFA
RAFA: Visit us or drop us a line.
Take a look at the RAFA calendar of training.
Enroll in a RAFA shooting class.
Follow RAFA on Instagram: @rainierarmsfirearmsacademy.
Connect on Facebook: /rainierarmsfirearmsacademy/
Find RAFA on Twitter: @rainieracademy
Subscribe to the RAFA channel on YouTube: Rainier Media Haus